Over The Top Epic Roleplaying

–Why Stop at 20?

Improving Your RPG Experience Vol. II: Using LEGO Minifigs Instead of Miniatures

Leave a comment

This weekend, I took a trip to Wal-Mart, and picked up a medium-sized Adidas duffle bag, and eight Flambeau Tuff-Tainers (tackleboxes,) in an effort to get my LEGO collection under control. You see, I have been ordering LEGO minifig parts from the “Pick-A-Brick” store, and building my own, quasi-custom, D&D-style minifigs, and outfitting them with third-party accessories from Brick Warriors. The result is that you end up with re-configurable miniatures, which are far more durable than their lead-based cousins, and which do not need to be painted, unless you’re just feeling the need to get super-customized. For my purposes, I use standard-sized LEGO minifigs on a 2×2 base. I Krazy Glue the feet (only) of the miniature to the base, which lends the figure greater stability when you’re configuring its accessories. Since I use a Plexiglas tac-map, with a standard Chessex vinyl map beneath it, these 2×2 bases work great, because they are slightly smaller than the 1-inch squares, and they stand perfectly still on the smooth Plexiglas surface. A LEGO minifig which is on a 2×2 base fits nicely into a Flambeau Tuff-Tainer, a single case which costs about $5.00, and will hold 12 figures. Eight of these containers comes to about 40 bucks, and fit nicely into a medium duffle bag, giving you a total of 96 figures that you can easily carry around. (Even fully loaded, the duffle bag is SUPER light.) The Adidas duffle bag that I bought was 30 bucks. So your total investment for storage and portability is around 70 bucks total, which in my mind, is well worth the price.

These are the tackleboxes I am using.

These are the tackleboxes I am using.

 

Overview of how many cases fit into the bag.

Overview of how many cases fit into the bag. One case is hidden by the bottom flap. It holds 8.

 

Close-up view.

Close-up view.

 

My first case, which has 4 empty spots, reserved for figs that haven't been built yet.

My first case, which has 4 empty spots, reserved for figs that haven’t been built yet.

 

This is what a full case looks like.

This is what a full case looks like.

 

So, armed with our storage capabilities, my son and I set out to organize our collection of figures. The first thing we did was to glue all of the PCs to their bases. (The Greycloak Council, The Warsenals, and The Fearless Five.) My son glued The Warsenals, and some of the Greycloaks. I did the rest. I also did a few miscellaneous NPCs as well, just for the practice. Eventually, all of our figures will be glued, but this was a good start. Again, so that the figure remains configurable with different accessories, we only glue the feet to the base. Nothing else is glued. That way, if the PC finds a new sword, or a new suit of armor, those items can be swapped out without hassle.

One figure that gave us a bit of a dilemma was The Sphynx (the albino mage, member of The Warsenals;) we didn’t have the correct style of blonde LEGO hair that we needed to be truly accurate to his character sheet, so we played around with the stuff we did have. In the end, I ended up giving him a hat, since his real-life player is fond of hats to begin with. But the various styles we tried are shown below, just for fun. The WORST (in my humble opinion) was the 70’s News Anchor hair. My favorite was the hat. A close second was the Vampire Hair, but I thought it made him look evil. What do you think? Leave a comment!

 

My son is proud of his work; he glued these four epic heroes ("The Warsenals") to their bases.

My son is proud of his work; he glued these four epic heroes (“The Warsenals”) to their bases.

 

The Sphynx with 70's News Anchor hairstyle.

The Sphynx with 70’s News Anchor hairstyle.

 

 

The Sphynx with Brunette Hippy hairstyle.

The Sphynx with Brunette Hippy hairstyle.

 

 

The Sphynx with Blonde Prince Valiant hairstyle.

The Sphynx with Blonde Prince Valiant hairstyle.

 

 

The Sphynx with Swashbuckler Hat. (This one is my personal favorite.)

The Sphynx with Swashbuckler Hat. (This one is my personal favorite.)

 

 

The Sphynx with Vampire Hair hairstyle.

The Sphynx with Vampire Hair hairstyle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: tellerianhawke

My name is Christopher A. Altnau, and I'm a happy husband, proud father, scholarly librarian, dedicated writer, avid role player, and ardent airgun enthusiast. My in-game persona is Tellerian Hawke, Defender of the Weak. I run an epic-level third edition campaign.

Leave a Reply

