Over The Top Epic Roleplaying

–Why Stop at 20?

An Example of How OTTER Adds Epic-Level Functionality To Non-Epic Spells

Leave a comment

I was running my epic campaign the other day, and a player wanted to develop a spell that would allow him to simply touch a corpse, concentrate a little, and be able to see the last few minutes of its life. (Sort of like an “instant replay” kind of thing.)

Well, I informed him that such a spell already existed, in a third party book that I own called “Relics & Rituals.” The spell is known as “Dead Man’s Eyes,” and just as it is, it’s a great little spell. But the player wanted more functionality, so I modified the spell, to allow it to be used by (and therefore, prove useful to) an epic-level caster. At the same time, the spell retains its usefulness to lower level spellcasters as well; I made the spell scalable using caster level and Concentration checks. The better you are at casting spells, the better the spell works.

And that got me to thinking: a game system like OTTER, which is aimed at epic-level playability, should be CHOCK-FULL of scalable spells. Thus, I have decided to re-vamp spells where I can, in order to give the player multiple options in the epic tier, even spells which do not seem to be in need of it. As an example of what you can expect from OTTER, I have included a free PDF attachment to this post, so that you can see for yourself what I mean when I say a spell is scalable.

The PDF file contains the original spell (“Dead Man’s Eyes,” copyright 2001, Clark Peterson) which is open gaming content; it also contains my improved version (“Dead Man’s Testimony,” copyright 2015 OTTER Entertainment) which is also open gaming content. Feel free to download this file, and take a look at how epic-level scalability can breathe new life into “regular” spells.

I will probably release other previews in this fashion in the future. Until then, enjoy this file. Simply right click the link, and select “Save Link As” on the drop-down menu. Or, simply left click the link to open a preview of the file in your Internet browser. Until next time, adieu.

Dead Man Spells + OGL [OTTER]

Author: tellerianhawke

My name is Christopher A. Altnau, and I'm a happy husband, proud father, scholarly librarian, dedicated writer, avid role player, and ardent airgun enthusiast. My in-game persona is Tellerian Hawke, Defender of the Weak. I run an epic-level third edition campaign.

Leave a Reply

